1). Africa Press International Medals for Meritorious Journalism   The API Medals for Meritorious Journalism honor distinguished coverage of disadvantaged children, youth and families. First-place winners in 5 categories receive to be specified cash prize and are honored at our annual award ceremony. Entry fee: To be decided.   All entries must be received by March 1, 2024.

2) The Ebsiy Ngum Award  

The Ebsiy Ngum Award created by API Founder Larry Bate Takang is to honor the memory of CRTV Cameroon News Editor Ebsiy Ngum, who died unexpectedly in December 2001. Ebsiy Ngum inspired those around him …………….to live up to high ideals and to produce solid journalism with heart. The award recognizes editors who support and encourage excellence, and who have a keen understanding of how to navigate the emotional landscape of assignments involving tragedy and trauma.

The Ebsiy Ngum Award is presented annually by API to recognize distinguished editors in Africa Broadcast Journalism. This includes social media broadcasters as a category.

Deadline: To be announced

3) The Dele Giwa Award

The Dele Giwa Award was created by API Founder Larry Bate Takang to recognize distinguished editors in Africa print, online and wire service media.

Deadline: To be announced

4) The Africa Press International Award

for public service, investigative reporting, human interest writing, commentary, First Amendment, breaking news, environmental reporting, radio excellence, community journalism, business and economics reporting, photojournalism, editorial writing and journalism education. Competitions are open to television and radio stations, daily and community newspapers that publish three or more times weekly, print publications, websites, cable networks, syndication services and news magazines. Staff members, freelance contributors and/or bloggers, college journalism and mass communication teachers and administrators are eligible. Rules and entry form for all but education awards will be published on our website.

Entry deadline: To be announced.

5). Other Awards

Recognizes journalists who have excelled in communicating information about colon and rectal disease to the public. Awards given for the best work in three media categories: print (a newspaper or magazine report, feature article or series), broadcast (a radio or television comprehensive news report, discussion program or documentary) and Internet (information created for a general audience and presented exclusively on the Internet, including news reports, features, discussion programs, documentaries or multi-media presentations). Winners receive a cash prize to be announced and an engraved plaque.

Deadline: See Web site.

Scroll to Top